Sierra Club Endorsements

This is a reminder that the Primary Election is on Tuesday, June 23rd! The Sierra Club Long Island Group is proud to endorse many environmental leaders in this upcoming election.

The Sierra Club's grassroots volunteer activists considered candidates' records, reviewed responses to our questionnaire, and interviewed those willing to meet with us. Our list of those we have endorsed in Long Island races is below. If you'd like to get involved in one of the races in your area, reach out to the campaign today! Contacts for each campaign can be found here. 


District 3                                                                                                                    Tom Suozzi (D - INCUMBENT)
In Congress, Suozzi has supported numerous pro-environmental bills, including the Climate Action Now Act, which would prevent the President from using federal funds to withdraw the US from the Paris climate accords, and an extension of federal tax credits for renewable energy projects.  He has helped to increase federal funding for the protection of Long Island Sound and remediation of the environmental damage at the Grumman-Navy industrial site in Bethpage, which is threatening the water supply of many surrounding properties.  For 2019, he received a 97% rating on the League of Conservation Voters environmental scorecard and he has been endorsed for re-election by the LCV.         



District 4                                                                                                                 Kathleen Rice (D - INCUMBENT)

Congressperson Rice has supported a number of pro-environmental bills, including legislation to protect public lands, mitigate the climate change impacts felt by local communities and restrict new oil and gas development projects.  She supports aggressive federal investment in green infrastructure projects and has fought to preserve funding for the EPA program that evaluates the health and environmental hazards of many chemicals.  For 2019, she received a 93% rating on the League of Conservation Voters environmental scorecard and she has been endorsed for re-election by the LCV.

  • Facebook Social Icon

The Sierra Club, a non-profit organization, is the nation’s longest standing volunteer driven environmental organization. Its purpose is to ‘explore, enjoy and protect the planet’. It does this by educating the public and influencing public policy decisions — legislative, legal, and electoral.

Copyright 2020 by Sierra Club Long Island Group